The main dilemma I’ve had since I’ve decided to begin my vegan journey is how to ask servers or hosts of dinner parties if anything on the menu is vegan. I went to lunch with coworkers and it was slightly embarrassing to ask the server if the soup had dairy in it. I don’t know why, but it was. I felt others looking at me funny, almost criticizing me with their look without saying anything. After the server went over to the manager to ask, I knew the soup was dairy-free; but then later when I got my food, I realized that maybe the sandwich bread wasn’t vegan. I wasn’t certain if the bread had butter on it. Also, we went to a friend’s house the other night and ate dinner there. As I was biting into my pasta, it dawned on me that there was dairy in it. I paid for it later, for sure. I’m having a hard time overcoming that hurdle of just asking what’s in the food. What’s the most polite way to ask without seeming pompous?